Sweet Delight

applesThis past fall I found major affection for apples.  For the past couple years I have been very mindful with what types of food products I am consuming as try to eat a relatively clean diet. I’m sure we will discussing my opinions on food products in the future because it is topic very interesting to me.  In simplistic terms eating clean means in-taking more plants and less things that have many ingredients.  So in my journey to eat cleaner I started to look for different types of fruits I could eat throughout the year at a reasonable price.  My current favorite apple is Braeburn, they’re affordable, crispy and taste wonderful.  Here are some interesting facts about apples:

7,500 varieties of apples are grown throughout the world.

Apples are grown in all 50 states.

Apple trees take four to five years to produce their first fruit.

Apples are the second most valuable fruit grown in the United States, Oranges are first.

Two-thirds of the fiber and lots of antioxidants are found in the peel.

il_570xN.404333185_dbax

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Another fact about apples, the Red Delicious apple was genetically modified so much that most people don’t actually think it’s delicious anymore. I can’t find the original article I read about that, but here is a link to a brief article that discusses what I’m talking about: http://www.treehugger.com/green-food/extreme-makeover-genetically-modified-apples.html

    • I am one of those people who do not enjoy Red Delicious, one could say I turn my nose up to them, one reason I don’t like them so much may be because Red Delicious and Golden Delicious are often served at schools and seem to be the unwanted leftovers. When I looked into Braeburn apples it said that it was the first supermarket bi-colored apple verity designed for flavor, so maybe gmo’s can be good and bad.

      • I agree that there can be positives and negatives to GMO’s. I just feel bad for the Red Delicious. Braeburn are great. I love Pink Lady apples.

  2. Nothing like a fall day in an apple barn, the fragrant scent of the wonderful fruits! My grandfather owned an apple orchard, what great memories.

Leave a Reply

